GMP · FSSAI · ISO-certified manufacturing
Ingredients

Does K2 belong in your calcium supplement, or is it label decoration?

The mechanism is real and the dose on most Indian labels is not. Here is the number K2 trials actually used, and the warfarin problem nobody prints.

EnglishIngredients
NutraHerbal Editorial11 min read

Reviewed for accuracy and claims compliance: Claims and compliance review

“Calcium + D3 + K2” is now the standard formulation on Indian shelves. The pitch is appealing and mechanistically coherent: vitamin D gets calcium into your blood, and vitamin K2 directs it into bone rather than arteries.

We have written separately about how those three nutrients work together, and that mechanism is genuine.

This article asks the commercial question instead: is the K2 in the bottle you are holding doing anything?

And the honest answer, for most Indian products, is no, because the quantity is a fraction of what any trial used, and because the form is often not stated.

We make a calcium and D3 capsule and we formulate K2 versions for clients. So this is a critique of a product category we participate in.

General information, not medical advice. And one warning that must come early: if you take warfarin or acenocoumarol, vitamin K2 is not a casual addition. It is below, and it is the most important thing here.

The mechanism, briefly

Covered in full elsewhere, so just the shape of it:

Vitamin K is a cofactor for an enzyme that carboxylates certain proteins, adding a chemical group that lets them bind calcium.

Two of those proteins matter here:

Osteocalcin, made by bone-building cells. Carboxylated osteocalcin binds calcium into the bone matrix.

Matrix Gla protein (MGP), in blood vessel walls. Carboxylated MGP inhibits calcification of arteries.

Without enough vitamin K, both proteins remain undercarboxylated, functionally inactive.

So the theory: inadequate K means calcium is less efficiently fixed into bone and less actively kept out of arteries.

It is a good theory. It is supported by biochemistry and by observational data. And the question for a supplement buyer is whether a given product delivers enough K2 to change those proteins’ carboxylation status.

The dose problem

This is the core of the article.

What the research used:

MK-7 studies, the better-known ones on bone and on arterial stiffness, typically used around 180 micrograms per day, some up to 360 µg, for two to three years.

MK-4 studies, largely from Japan in an osteoporosis-treatment context, used doses in the region of 45 milligrams a day, that is 45,000 micrograms, a completely different order of magnitude, and at that level it is a pharmaceutical rather than a nutritional dose.

What Indian calcium-plus-K2 products commonly contain:

Frequently 5 to 55 micrograms of K2, usually MK-7.

Put those side by side.

A product with 20 µg of MK-7 is delivering about a ninth of the 180 µg that the trials used.

There is no basis for expecting a ninth of a studied dose to change protein carboxylation meaningfully.

So that K2 is on the label to be read, not to act. It permits the words “with K2” on the front, it costs the manufacturer very little, and it allows a price increase.

That is label decoration, and we should call it that.

The form problem

Compounding it: “vitamin K2” on a label without a form tells you very little.

MK-4 (menatetrenone), short half-life, measured in hours. Cleared quickly, which is why the Japanese trials used enormous doses given multiple times daily. At a nutritional dose in a once-daily capsule, MK-4 is a poor choice on pharmacokinetic grounds alone.

MK-7 (menaquinone-7), long half-life, measured in days. Accumulates to a steady state with once-daily dosing, which is what you want in a supplement. Most of the modern supplement evidence uses MK-7, and it is the sensible form.

And within MK-7 there is a further point: trans versus cis isomers. The trans form is the biologically active one. Synthetic MK-7 can contain a significant proportion of the inactive cis isomer, and a label that does not specify “all-trans” has not told you how much of the stated figure is active.

So a full K2 specification is three things: the form (MK-7), the isomer (all-trans), and the quantity (approaching trial range).

Very few Indian labels state even one of them.

The warfarin problem, and it is serious

Vitamin K is the vitamin that warfarin works by antagonising.

That is not a side issue. It is warfarin’s entire mechanism, it inhibits vitamin K recycling, reducing the carboxylation of clotting factors.

So adding vitamin K2 to someone on warfarin or acenocoumarol directly opposes their anticoagulation.

The consequence: a falling INR, loss of anticoagulant control, and increased clot risk, which in someone with atrial fibrillation or a mechanical heart valve is a stroke risk.

And here is what makes this a real-world hazard rather than a theoretical one:

The patient population that buys calcium supplements, older adults, often women, often post-menopausal, overlaps heavily with the population on anticoagulants for atrial fibrillation.

And “calcium with K2” does not read as a drug interaction. It reads as a bone supplement.

So the practical rules:

If you take warfarin or acenocoumarol, do not start a K2-containing supplement without telling the doctor who manages your INR.

If you already take one, do not stop it abruptly either, because consistency of vitamin K intake is what keeps INR stable. A sudden stop destabilises it in the other direction. Tell your doctor and let them manage it.

The direct oral anticoagulants, apixaban, rivaroxaban, dabigatran, do not work through vitamin K, so this interaction does not apply to them. Worth knowing, because many patients have switched.

And we think this warning belongs on the front of every K2 product sold in India. It is on almost none.

So when is K2 worth having?

Being fair to the ingredient, because the mechanism is real.

A genuine case exists if:

The dose approaches the studied range, meaningfully above 100 µg of MK-7, ideally around 180 µg.

The form and isomer are stated, all-trans MK-7.

You are taking calcium and vitamin D supplements long-term, where the directing-calcium argument has most relevance.

You are at elevated cardiovascular risk and interested in the arterial calcification argument, noting honestly that hard outcome evidence here is still developing, and the strongest data is on surrogate markers like arterial stiffness rather than on heart attacks and deaths.

You are post-menopausal with low bone density.

And you are not on a vitamin K antagonist.

The case is weak if:

The dose is a token 5–55 µg, most products.

You eat a reasonable amount of fermented and green food. K1 comes from green leafy vegetables and converts partly to MK-4; K2 comes from fermented foods and some animal products. Overt vitamin K deficiency is uncommon on a varied diet, and the argument for K2 supplementation is about optimising carboxylation rather than correcting a classical deficiency, which is a weaker argument and should be presented as one.

You are on warfarin.

And if the premium is substantial, because you are then paying for the word on the label.

What this means for a buyer

If you want K2, buy it as a properly dosed standalone or in a product that states a real quantity. Do not pay a premium for a calcium tablet with 20 µg in it.

Check: form (MK-7), isomer (all-trans), quantity (ideally 100–200 µg), and whether it is in an oil base, K2 is fat-soluble, so an oil-filled capsule or taking it with a fatty meal matters.

And the thing that matters more than K2 in a calcium product:

Elemental calcium stated, not the salt weight. A per-dose amount of 500 mg elemental or less, because absorption drops above that. Vitamin D included, which is the one combination that is unambiguously justified. And whether you actually need a calcium supplement at all, given that food calcium carries a better risk profile than supplemental calcium for kidney stones and, contestedly, for cardiovascular events.

We have written about all four separately, and all four outrank the K2 question.

What we do

Our calcium capsule contains calcium and vitamin D3, and not K2.

The reason is this article: we were not willing to add a token amount for the label, and a trial-range dose changes the product’s cost, its warfarin warning requirements, and the conversation a customer needs to have before buying it.

For clients who want a K2 version, we formulate it, at a dose that means something, with the form and isomer declared, and with the anticoagulant warning on the pack. Some clients decline the warning. We do not make those.

What we will and will not say

Sayable: the authorised nutrient-function claims for vitamin K, where present in a significant quantified amount, contribution to normal blood clotting and to the maintenance of normal bones, in the permitted wording; and the authorised claims for calcium and vitamin D.

Note what that permitted list does and does not contain. **“Maintenance of normal bones” is authorised. “Directs calcium away from arteries”, “prevents arterial calcification” and “prevents heart disease” are not.

Not sayable: prevents osteoporosis, prevents fractures, prevents or reverses arterial calcification, prevents heart disease, “tells calcium where to go” as a health claim.

And three refusals:

We will not put a token K2 dose on a label to justify a price increase.

We will not sell K2 with an arterial-calcification claim, because the authorised claim list does not include it and the outcome evidence does not yet support it.

And we will not supply a K2 product without an anticoagulant warning.

And the most honest summary:

The K2 mechanism is real: it carboxylates osteocalcin and matrix Gla protein, which fixes calcium into bone and inhibits arterial calcification.

MK-7 trials used around 180 µg a day for two to three years. Most Indian calcium-plus-K2 products contain 5 to 55 µg.

That is not a smaller dose of the same thing. It is a word on a label.

And K2 is the vitamin warfarin exists to antagonise, which makes this the one “bonus ingredient” in the bone category with a genuine stroke-risk conversation attached.

When to see a doctor

Before starting any K2-containing supplement, if you:

  • take warfarin or acenocoumarol, the critical one; speak to whoever manages your INR, and do not stop an existing one abruptly either
  • have a mechanical heart valve or atrial fibrillation and are on anticoagulation
  • have kidney disease, calcium and vitamin K handling are both affected
  • have a bleeding or clotting disorder
  • are pregnant or breastfeeding
  • have surgery planned, mention all supplements

Before starting calcium, if you: have a kidney stone history; have kidney disease; have parathyroid disease or high blood calcium; have sarcoidosis; take digoxin or a thiazide diuretic; or take levothyroxine, iron, a bisphosphonate, or tetracycline or fluoroquinolone antibiotics, where timing matters.

Get seen rather than supplementing if you have: bone pain in the hips, ribs or shins; a fracture from a minor fall; loss of height or a stooping back; difficulty rising from a chair; or tingling around the mouth and in the fingers with muscle spasms, which suggests genuinely low blood calcium and is a medical problem.

Stop and get advice if you develop: nausea, vomiting, constipation, unusual thirst, frequent urination or confusion, high blood calcium, especially alongside high-dose vitamin D. Or, on an anticoagulant, any unexpected change in your INR.

The short version

  1. “Calcium + D3 + K2” is now standard, and the mechanism behind it is genuine
  2. Vitamin K carboxylates proteins so they can bind calcium
  3. Carboxylated osteocalcin fixes calcium into bone matrix
  4. Carboxylated matrix Gla protein inhibits arterial calcification
  5. Without enough K, both stay functionally inactive
  6. MK-7 trials typically used around 180 µg a day for two to three years
  7. MK-4 osteoporosis studies used around 45 mg daily, a pharmaceutical dose
  8. Indian calcium-plus-K2 products commonly contain 5 to 55 µg
  9. A 20 µg product gives about a ninth of the trial dose
  10. There is no basis for expecting a ninth of a dose to change carboxylation
  11. So that K2 is on the label to be read, not to act
  12. MK-4 has a half-life of hours, a poor choice once daily at nutritional doses
  13. MK-7 has a half-life of days and accumulates to steady state
  14. Within MK-7, only the all-trans isomer is active
  15. Synthetic MK-7 can contain a large inactive cis fraction
  16. A full specification is form, isomer and quantity, few labels give any
  17. Vitamin K is precisely what warfarin antagonises
  18. So K2 directly opposes warfarin and acenocoumarol
  19. The consequence is a falling INR and increased clot and stroke risk
  20. And the calcium-buying population overlaps heavily with the anticoagulated one
  21. “Calcium with K2” does not read as a drug interaction, but it is one
  22. Do not stop an existing K2 abruptly either, consistency keeps INR stable
  23. Apixaban, rivaroxaban and dabigatran do not work via vitamin K, so are unaffected
  24. K2 is worth having above ~100 µg of all-trans MK-7, stated on the label
  25. Outcome evidence for arterial calcification is still developing
  26. The strongest data is on surrogate markers like arterial stiffness
  27. Overt vitamin K deficiency is uncommon on a varied diet
  28. So the argument is optimising carboxylation, not correcting a deficiency
  29. K2 is fat-soluble, an oil base or a fatty meal matters
  30. Four things outrank K2: elemental figure, dose split, vitamin D, and whether you need calcium at all
  31. Our calcium capsule contains D3 and no K2, deliberately
  32. The authorised claim is “maintenance of normal bones”, not “directs calcium away from arteries”

Our formulations: Calcium & D3 Capsule, Vitamin D3 Drops. Related reading: calcium, D3 and K2, how they work together, calcium citrate vs carbonate, कैल्शियम की कमी के लक्षण, and private label vs custom formulation.

Get our product list and minimum orders

Leave your email and we will send the formats we make, the minimum order for each and typical lead times. We use it only to reply to you.

Manufacturing in this category?

We make products in this category for other people's brands. Tell us the format and volume and we will send a specification and a per-unit cost.

Request a quotation ↗

NutraHerbal manufactures food supplements, Ayurvedic proprietary medicines and cosmetics for business customers. Product information on this site describes composition, format and commercial positioning for brand owners. It is not medical advice, does not claim to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and is not a substitute for consulting a qualified practitioner. Final label claims are the brand owner's responsibility and must be approved for the destination market.

How we write and review content: editorial policy.

Reviewed by

Tarun Vashisht

Head of Ayurvedic Formulations & Regulatory Quality

Ayurvedic physician and pharmacognosy specialist with over 15 years of experience overseeing GMP-certified herbal extractions, classical proprietary formulations, and AYUSH/FSSAI regulatory compliance for direct-selling and retail nutraceutical brands.

Your idea, made tangible

Tell us what you want to launch

Send us the format, the wellness goal and roughly the volume you have in mind. We will come back with a specification sheet, a per-unit cost and a realistic first-batch date, not a brochure.

WA